Book 40 – Tess of the d’Urbervilles

“Tess of the d’Urbervilles” by Thomas Hardy (1892)

audio book narrated by Anna Bentinck

I have really enjoyed listening to books this year, especially since my increased commute in May. However, choosing audio books has been quite challenging. I have 138 books on my waiting to be read shelf and over 100 books on my want to read list, so there’s no shortage of choice, but a lot of books aren’t audio books and I don’t want to buy audio books when I already have them as real books.

So, a couple of weeks ago I asked each of the teachers in my faculty what book they had read that had stayed with them, that had a real impact on them. The list is very interesting. And it starts with this one, Renee’s choice.

“Tess of the d’Urbervilles” is a miserable book. I was sad the entire time I listened to it. It reflects a time when women were damned to lives that limited them in every way. It tells the story of a poor girl in impoverished times. It explores a story of less than perfect morals and the outcome is painfully obvious almost from the outset.

I totally understand why this book has stayed with Renee. The characters are complex and engender sympathy. I’m glad I read this book.

1 Comment

Filed under Adult fiction, Uncategorized

One response to “Book 40 – Tess of the d’Urbervilles

  1. Brett

    Gods, I hated studying Tess of the D’Ubervilles for the HSC. It was just SO constantly and consistently depressing. I get it, the themes and concepts are pithy and therefore easy to discuss and teach at a HSC level. But wow, it just wouldn’t let up. Surely there’s other texts that are as pithy and interesting to teach that are more engaging, and approachable, and, well…less god damn depressing to study.

Leave a Reply

